A Rewilding Journey: Workable Land

Rewilding… where do you start? You might start with the land.

Roo Williams
6 min readApr 5, 2021
Roo’s garden and soon-to-be paddock

Having grown up on a council estate and spending most of my adult life moving within and between cities, land has been a thing I have not had access to. Not that I’ve seen a place for land in my life until fairly recently.

While being shown around the house we ended up renting, we were offered the opportunity to rent the acre-sized paddock next to our (huge) garden. The estate agent suggested it would be a good move for privacy but also talked casually about the idea of keeping animals on it. We were both a little taken aback. Until now, I’d never considered the potential of having a patch of land to experiment with let alone become responsible for any other lifeforms beyond our pooch, Betty. My mind raced… I already have a wool gilet and wellies, was I going to transition into a farmer? I wondered how I’d look in a flat cap.

As people that have a dog, like to make things, enjoy cooking over fire, and observing the lives of critters, Lydia and I always enjoyed having a garden where possible, even in the city. For me personally, it’s a space where I can get messy and weird without annoying anyone else. Even while living in Brooklyn we committed to parting ways with a sickening amount of rent every month…

--

--

Roo Williams

Designer, developer and maker of things that exist on the web and in the world. City quitter. Exploring the concept of rewilding self and environment in Wales.